Swimming Social: Chicago has 91 park pools and I’m swimming in all of them

Teresa Albano
4 min readFeb 15, 2019
Adults swim Sunday morning at Chicago High School for Agricultural Sciences Community Center pool. Photo by Teresa Albano

The Chicago Park District operates 91 pools. Forty-nine of them are outdoor, 28 are indoor and 14 are in public high schools. I’m going to swim in all of them and then write a review. If I do one a month, it will take me about 7.5 years to finish this project. I’ll be 63. Down the road, I might modify the timeline. But for now, that’s the plan.

I am on a masters swim team named the Swedish Fish (SWED). I started masters swimming in 2012, the year the team decided on the name, and the team’s head coach, Billy Cordero, began his magic, which included authoring our team’s motto: “Building relationships through swimming.”

When I say I’m going to swim in every park district pool in Chicago, it’s not going to be a little dip. I’m swimming laps. No less than 1,000 yards. Blogging about the experience will be part of building relationships with the city’s public pools and the people who swim in them.

Luckily for me, my dear friend and teammate, Ronna Feldman, agreed to join me in this project. Ronna is a founding member of Swedish Fish. She had the foresight to know that adults would want to join a swim team. She, along with the team’s founding coach, Matt Wever, and a few others had a “build-it-and-they-will-come” vision.

--

--

Teresa Albano

Writers interpret the world in various ways, the point is to change it.